Mobile Command Center

7 Mar

Toni from A Bowl Full of Lemons has some serious organizing skills!  When I first found her blog a couple of months ago, I read as many blog posts as I could.  The girl has an unending list of great organizing ideas.  One of the ideas that caught my attention was this:

It’s her mobile command center.  Genius!  This idea is especially awesome if you have a small home and need something that doesn’t take up too much space (that would be me!) or you live in a mulit-level house and would appreciate having something easy to carry from floor to floor.
So, today I finally decided to put together a mobile command center of my own.  First of all, I already had the same file box (from Target) that she had, so that part was easy.  There are a ton of cute options out there when it comes to file boxes.  Choose one in your favorite color or choose one that coordinates with the color scheme of the room where it will be stored (great opportunity to interject some fun into a space if you generally shy away from bold colors or patterns).
In addition to the file box, you’ll also need some hanging files and either a label maker or a sharpie.  After you’ve collected all your supplies, you can start with the following categories:
  • Incoming Mail
  • Outgoing Mail
  • To File
  • To Pay
Toni also included a file for each family member, which I plan to do also when little man gets a little older and more children join our family.  Until then, I’m going to start with the categories listed above.  If I find that more categories are needed, I’ll add them at a later time.  (Update: I will be adding a grocery list/coupon file like Toni did also.)
Without further adieu, here is my version of Toni’s Mobile Command Center:

As you can see, I still need to add a calendar to the front but at least this is a step in a more organized direction.

Toni also mentioned that she kept a small box nearby to store her colorful pens (to color code her calendar).  I’m thinking I’ll put my pens in an unused white coffee mug.  Maybe later on I’ll wrap some cute paper around a (clean) metal can and use that for pen storage.  Who knows?  The possiblities are endless!

Here is a closer look at my file folders.  Don’t laugh at my handwriting!  🙂  I also intend to use my label maker to make the tabs look a little better but first I have to get a label refill.  (It’s on the shopping list!)

So, there you have it!  Be sure to check out Toni’s version before tackling this project yourself.  After all, mine still needs a little bit of work to be fully functional.  But you know, getting organized starts by doing ONE THING at a time.  This was my one thing for today.  What will yours be?

3 Responses to “Mobile Command Center”

  1. Toni March 7, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out! LOVE what you have done. 🙂

  2. NavyGirl March 8, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    Love this!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I {Heart} Target + Hobby Lobby « Taylor Made Home: The Blog - August 2, 2011

    […] will probably change it up soon}.  The top shelf holds my most referenced books, our “mobile command center“, and my […]

Leave a Reply

