What Makes a Home?

19 May

The other day, I received a Facebook message from a dear woman who taught me when I was in the youth group at church.  She has a larger-than-average family and here’s what she had to say about her home:

“…One of the boys’ said “Momma, it’s clean enough to be healthy and messy enough to be happy.” I’ve always wanted a home where people feel at home and enjoy being here – and that’s what seems to be the consensus, so I guess I’ll have to just keep dreaming about the perfectly decorated home and be blessed by my throw covered and mismatched furniture.”

Her words have been running through my mind ever since I read them.  I keep thinking to myself “What kind of home do I want to have?” and “Is an immaculately organized and impressively decorated home really all that important?”

Can I just be completely open and honest with you?  As much as I’ve enjoyed blogging, I do become discouraged from time to time when my home isn’t as stylish, organized, or spotless as theirs.  Staged vignettes and edited photos make it nearly impossible to meet the “standard”.  Not to mention that it seems like others have a more disposable income than we do.

Anyone else feel this way?

Mind you, I’m not trying to put any other blogger down or imply that I will never create my own vignettes for photos here at Taylor Made Home.  I understand that staged photos are more pleasing to the eye and can provide a source of inspiration for others.  Seriously, there are some SUPER talented and creative women out there in the blogosphere.

For me, that dear woman’s words challenged me to focus on the things that make up a home that don’t revolve around fabric, hardware, or paint.  To be thankful for what I do have instead of complaining about what I don’t.  To invest more time in my son than in choosing color schemes or dreaming about what I would rather my home look like.

I hope you don’t mind me sharing what is on my heart and mind right now.  I will happily return to blogging about decorating and organizing, but I hope to do it with a little perspective. 

I also want to send some encouragement your way by reminding you that what you read on anyone’s blog is only a small glimpse into their life.  So, next time you think someone’s home is always perfectly organized, decorated, and clean, remember that it probably isn’t.

THIS POST IS LINKED TO:

2 Responses to “What Makes a Home?”

  1. joyfilled May 19, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I completely agree with you. I have the same trouble with discouragement from reading other blogs. Of course, I should know better, considering when I put up pictures of anything related to my home it's usually AFTER I deep clean, because it was likely a horrible mess before! And I am sure that many of the pictures I've seen of others homes are in the same situation…because I cannot imagine having children and being able to keep a home looking like some of the pictures I see (unless everything- or entire rooms- are just "hands off" which would be no fun!).But for me I also tend to let it go further than the look of someone's home. It's the things they do as wives/mothers/homemakers that make me think, "How can they have it so together and be so successful and do so many wonderful things, when here I am trying SO hard and feel like a failure on a regular basis!?" Anyway, I will stop myself (because I could go on and on) but basically, I agree. šŸ™‚ Of course, the Lord has also used these situations to work on the contentment in my own heart, so for that I'm grateful!

  2. Lacinda May 21, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    This is so encouraging. I too am asking God to make me thankful for what i have instead of wishing for more or for something different. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a comment